Making Peace With Your Body

Contributor Audra

I was running in the woods with a very good friend of mine the other day when she told me about a conversation she had with her husband. He saw something in a magazine that said only 10% of women like their bodies. He quickly remarked to his wife, are there really any women who like their bodies? Now this struck me as odd coming from him because both he and his wife are marathon trail runners. They’ve run 100 mile races and regular 26.1 mile races and have met countless runners along the way. They are both in great shape and yet he made that comment.

It got me to thinking that his wife, my friend, must have complained here and there throughout the years about her body. So I pose this question to you: are there any women out there who truly love their bodies?

Pinned Image

I certainly can’t lecture any of you about loving your body without first taking the plunge myself. While I take care of myself eating properly and getting exercise, I still look critically at myself in the mirror. There are parts of me that I don’t like because they are not perfect. Beating myself up about it isn’t the answer. I’ve been doing that for years and nothing has changed.  I know now that I need to do something different.  The fact of the matter is that I’m 39, I have 3 children and I work full time. I can only do what I can do. And my body, while not perfectly chiseled, has allowed me to do so many wonderful things in life. I carried 3 children to term, I have run 3 half marathons and completed a rugged maniac, I can do a pirouette and teach Zumba, and I know I could defend myself in an attack (or at least do some damage). So what am I so upset about? I have absolutely nothing to be upset about and only good things to celebrate.

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that we shouldn’t have fitness goals to strive towards. Our goals just have to change. It shouldn’t be about a pants size, but about becoming stronger and healthier, having more energy and feeling alive.

peace!!!!!!

So Ladies, it’s time to make peace with your bodies. I urge you to make a list of all the great things your body has allowed you to do over the years and keep it close by. Whenever you doubt yourself for not looking a certain way, pull it out and remember you have reasons to celebrate!

Classes with Audra are scheduled:

6:35 Wednesday night and 8:00 Saturday morning at Squared Circle Studio.

Squared Circle Studio is located in Deep River

860.526.8763 to call for classes

http://www.squaredcirclect.com Home Page.

5 thoughts on “Making Peace With Your Body

  1. Struggling with perceived conceptions of how we “should” look according to the self-esteem robbing media is a huge problem for many. Myself included. I try to be objective and ignore their “insults” of how I look compared to some half starved model… Some days it would be nice to hear how great we look from someone of the opposite sex, and I am not talking about sexual comments or harassment here…just a genuine compliment. Our girlfriends encourage us regularly but we so seldom hear those things from those who could truly boost our self-esteem. The ones we are always trying to secretly impress. Come on! We all do it! Audra, you are absolutely correct !! We women need to embrace our unique traits, love our bodies and think “No one else can be as gorgeous as me!”

  2. Audra –
    What a great reminder to all of us! Working to eat healthier and setting realistic fitness goals is great and gives us quality of life. However, unrealistic expectations, thinking we should always DO more or eat LESS, the quest for perfection (which by the way doesn’t exist) and beating ourselves up over individual body parts is nothing but a waste of time; time we could have spent doing something really important for ourself or someone else. I agree that the media tries to tell us how we should look and what is beautiful. Letting go of that idea isn’t ‘giving up’ or ‘giving in’ but rather owning your own definition of beauty. Beauty is as individual as you are. Stop letting others tell you differently. What’s beautiful on you? The nape of your neck, your graceful hands, your curves, or even the wrinkles on your face? It’s time to make peace with ourselves!

Leave a Reply

