Friends

Design Your Own Vintage Typewriter Key & Large Skeleton Key Necklace-Personalized Gift-Initials-Recycled-Letters-Numbers for $19.99 at etsy.com

When I look back at my years at school and the friends I have made, the most meaningful ones were at college. We were such a tight group. If any one of them called me at any point and said they needed me, I would drop what I was doing and be there as quick as I could. It would not matter if we hadn’t spoken in years. I know they would do the same for me.

College can be a really confusing time. You are trying to focus on studying, getting good grades so you can then focus on getting a job. But there is a parallel universe at the same time where you are focusing on finding your identity,  which has nothing to do with grades, more with academic probation then finding a job that would require you to be an adult. It’s messed up.

For me, it finally clicked. It was the first time in my life when I actually had a clue about who I was. I really knew anything in the world was possible, if I didn’t worry it away or scare the opportunity away. I started to live my life like that. It worked. I finally realized I was the only one who would get in the way of myself. No one else. I had the power of me. Well, I say I figured that out then, but I am lying. I think I am still trying to figure that out. Although, I did begin to see that anything was possible, but it required me to work hard to get it, and I did just that.

friendship.

Anyway, I started this post out about friends. These gals and gents were some of the most influential people in my life. When I look back at all the most important events in my college life, it had to do with my friends. Not the grades, the jobs or the awards. It was my friends. We would call each other out when we weren’t playing fair, cheer each other on when we needed a cheering squad, laugh when we needed to work on humbleness, had plenty of material for blackmail but never used it, and would walk the walk when it needed to be shared. For some of us, we harbored sorrows and faced the cruel reality of what life can offer. We grieved for unimaginable losses, we celebrated sweet victories or trudged ahead to get to the finish line. We were all vastly different, but all the same in the most important ways.

Through our experiences together, I learned what I was capable of. I learned what a friendship meant and the work it entailed and deserved. I learned that listening was a quality that was under-rated and our vast backgrounds were teaching tools for acceptance and understanding. I learned more from my friends than any professor.

The Greek Guide

Twenty years later, we are all over the place. Living lives and going on with our days. There is one thing for certain, as much as I love and cherish where I am now and am content and happy, when I think back to those days I shared with these imaginative, brave, smart people, they really were some of the best years of my life.

image 1: From etsy.com

image 2: From instagr.am

image 3: From greekguide.tumblr.com

2 thoughts on “Friends

Leave a Reply

