Moon

Oreo Moon phases-

Isn’t this such a cool idea? I am always on the look-out for educational activities that combine hands-on learning with instruction. With this it is a combination of treat and science.

After seeing the amazingly beautiful moon this week, I thought about how to explain the moon in a kid friendly way. Planets, solar system, gravity, moon, sun, stars, galaxies are all very intriguing topics for little ones. I think the fact that they cannot touch them through guided or independent exploration  makes it difficult for them to grasp in understanding.

.

My son has been fascinated with astronauts and space lately. When he goes to the library with Miss A, they take out books about space. My dad had a telescope when I was growing up, and I remember he would set it up on specific nights when certain planets would be most visible. I think S would really be excited to look at these planets close up.

Have you taught anything in a kid friendly way that combined food with academics?

image 1 via leilockheart.tumblr.com    image 2 viaawelltraveledwoman.tumblr.com

One thought on “Moon

Leave a Reply

