Taking a compliment

inspiration

Do you know how to take a compliment? I struggle with this. I feel awkward and do not know what to say. I should say thank you. Instead, I diminish the compliment by saying something like, it wasn’t that difficult to do, or no big deal.  I really need to stop doing that.

I overheard someone giving a compliment to another person in a social setting a while back. The person receiving it handled it with such grace and said something in response that just left such an impression on me. This person was clearly schooled in this area. It left me wanting to replicate her exact response.

So from now on, I am going to take a compliment as it should be received. I will show with words how I am feeling inside. Happy to be noticed and honored you liked it.

Ok…here we go.

4 thoughts on “Taking a compliment

  1. You are an amazing teacher Amy!! I appreciate all that you do for your students, even to the point of exhaustion!! I am so glad my Abigail had you!!

  2. P.S. I am learning to give them more! Trying to say what I am thinking when appropriate so others know that I appreciate them!! 😉

Leave a Reply

