Brimfield

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

For the last 15 years I have been wanting to go to Brimfield to the Brimfield Antiques Show. The show runs three times throughout the year. May, July and September. I never could go in May or September because of work commitments. July is unbearably hot and the thought of walking through miles of fields in the sweltering heat never appealed to me. Last Thursday we woke up at 4:30 in the morning and took the 90 minute drive North to Brimfield. The idea was to get there close to dawn for the perfect parking spot and beat the traffic getting in. We arrived after 6 and there were already tons of people there. The downside of getting there so early is that many of the tents/booths are not even open.

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

What struck me was the massive amount of stuff people collect and sell. I am not kidding when I say anything and everything was there. Vintage pennies, light bulbs, faucet heads, skulls, hooks, dishes, airplane wings. I am not a hoarder, but I even feel like I have so much stuff in my house that I cannot even deal with. Since we are moving, I have made sure to start purging. So,  before I arrived, I had a list of what I was going to search for.

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

Brimfield is so massive. My mind started to swirl with all the stuff I was looking at. I actually felt sick at one point because it was a bit too much for me. Every type of walk of life was there. There was a huge contingency of people from Brooklyn swooping in and getting all the mid-century. It was amazing to watch, and they literally grabbed every chair that I was going to go for. Unreal but completely fantastic to watch. I wasn’t going to get into a frenzy and moved on my merry way. I spotted a few tv celebrities from the home improvement shows, one designer and a few people I recognized from sitcom programs.

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

My list consisted of: skeleton keys, milk glass, lighting, vintage farm table about 12-14 feet long, vintage Levis, mid-century anything, large industrial mirrors, and Tolix chairs. With that in mind, we started our search. There is definitely a mix of old and brand new there, so that appealed to me as well.

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

I found some amazing lights and snatched up one for over the kitchen table for the new construction. The lights were from a factory in Belgium. Score.

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

I snatched up a cowhide from Brazil. Such an amazing deal. That will go in the new master with my new color scheme.I am a sucker for anything vintage and the 70s, hence my Levis obsession. I scored this bag from the early 70s. The leather was impeccable.I have a scattering of Buddhas throughout the home. These were solid marble. Incredibly heavy.

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

IMG_4336

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

I will definitely return in the fall with a new list. I was happy with what we found and they are already in storage for the new move in late winter.

Leave a Reply

