Introducing…….

Never one to just chill out and not have a heaping over flowing plate, I decided to add another being to the family. My love for boxers began a life time ago, and my first boxer, Duke, stole my heart from the moment I saw his eyes. I had actually took a week to think long and hard if I wanted to get him and if he was there a week later, then it was meant to be. He was and the rest was history. That pup taught me so much. To this day, 7 years after he has been gone, I still think of him every day. Saying goodbye to him was excruciating.

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

DJ (Duke Jr.) came into the picture. He was a hard sell for me. He joined the family three days before Duke died, and I just really wasn’t open to him. It took me months to even show an ounce of emotion towards him. I trained him every day though and learned to appreciate his own personality and loyalty to my kids. He is such a wonderful dog. My shadow. I try to make up my lack of connection to him the first months he was here every day since.

So hating to think about the inevitable, having to say goodbye to him, I knew that maybe adding a puppy to the fold would be good for him.  DJ has had the unfortunate rap of having numerous surgeries to rid of tumors. He visits the vet several times a month to check his leg for these awful tumors. We are hopeful that if we are persistent, we can catch them before they grow and we can save his leg. Even through all of this, he still loves the vet and never has shown anything but gratitude for his care.

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

Finding boxer breeders locally is not an easy task. They are really not a common breed, in my parts of the world anyway. One day doing my daily pilgrimage around town for the 10th time, I noticed a sign at a horse farm that advertised boxer puppies for sale. I sat on that idea for about a month and called.  I really only was interested in a boy fawn. When I called she had only two females left, a brindle and a fawn with some brindle markings.  I never even considered that option. I told her I would call back after some thought. I thought about it for a few weeks, and again felt if they were still there, then maybe I would bring my kids over to meet the two pups. They were still there, and only 5 weeks at the time. We headed over and Miss P instantly fell in love. I knew exactly which one I connected with because one of the pups had Duke’s face.  The kids loved the farm. They played with the puppies and S was drawn to the horses. It was so amazing to see him connect with them. One in particular would follow him around.

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

After much back and forth, based on  fear that this new pup would be all on me, with me devoting time and energy to training her, I decided to get her. I seriously must be crazy, because my days and weekends are booked. But organized chaos is good for the soul.

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

Introducing, Duchess, who now we call Sadie.  We thought of so many names. We settled on Duchess to go with the Duke and Duke Jr. theme, but I have always loved the name Sadie. So Sadie it is.

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

We have had her for two weeks, sleepless weeks since she hates the crate at night. But she sits when asked and we are working on walking with a lease and gentle leader. DJ seems to dig her for the most part. He lets her spoon. But he is working on sharing his bone.

Leave a Reply

