Counter Confusion

I am in the process of deciding what type of counter top I want for the kitchen and pantry.  I want to make the right choice the first time around, unlike the last house. We put in butcher block, when I really wanted to put in Carrara marble. Cut to three years later and the butcher block is out and the marble is in.

I love my counter tops. I love the look of the marble. However, I am a TYPE A personality and would have a mini heart attack if a glass was left on it and left a mark, or water from the sink, or food from cooking.  I slowly let go of that, but it took a few years. Now, I actually like the way the counters have that lived in look. We treated the counters as is always recommended, but that sealant never worked for us.

So I am now left with a decision to make for this house. Do I stick with what I love or go for something that looks like it, but is durable?

My first choice is the Carrara marble. Timeless and can do no wrong. This is my current kitchen.

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

I then found this quartzite. I love the veining of it. The colors are perfect. It is a bit hardier than the marble, but will still have etching with daily use. So I would basically be in the same boat.

Soapstone is also beautiful. Timeless. I would shy away from the greens and stick with the greys. But the patina does change over time and it can chip. I would be nervous around the sink area.

That leaves me with granite. The thing is, if I went granite it would have to look like the Carrara, which seems to not exist on this planet. I went to the local granite supplier and asked all the questions and they are helping me with my search. Here are some that caught my eye.

Sea Pearl Quartzite - Granite Slab Polished 3cm

This is sea pearl granite. I love this, but am not sure if it is granite or quartzite. It identifies it as both on the website.

Valley White - Granite Slab Polished 3cm

Valley White granite is a top contender. I like that it in the same color family as the carrara.

This is Bianco Itaunas. Not my first choice if I have to go granite, but it is still nice.

I am really liking this white pearl extra granite too. I think this is also a top contender.

Decisions. Decisions. I really like this process right now and it allows me to test my creativity. I do not picture us moving again. This will be the home that our children return to as adults with their own families and I want to make sure my choices are timeless and on budget.

Have you found a granite that looks like Carrara?

Leave a Reply

