Counter Top Contest

So the countertops for the new build were not as easy to choose. I love cararra, as I have written before. But the etching drives me batty and I really need to learn to chill out on stupid stuff. So for my sanity and everyone who lives with me, I had to rule them out.

I was told to look at granite. For me, I had such a hard time finding a granite that looked like my marble. It does not exist. At least not in my extensive search. I had my fabricator ship up a granite from New Jersey, in hopes that would be the one. But I wasn’t in love with it, and seeing as how we would be living in this room more than any other, it had to be right. Because I would end up hating it.

Originally I was going to just look at quartzite, but I received mixed reviews on the etching issue. There were many choices though that had the look I really wanted.

I took Miss P one day a few months ago to a few stone yards, and here is what we found.

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

This really had me thinking that I might go a different route. It was a marble, although when I did a search it came up quartzite. I loved the veining and it would work off with everything else that would be in the room. It was a top contender for a few weeks.

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

Macabus Quartzite. I was in love with it the second I saw it. I loved the veining. It was grey and white and delicious.

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

Miss P saw this one and loved it. Just kidding. We had never seen anything like it before.

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

I contemplated using two surfaces. The darker on the island and the lighter on the perimeter cabinets.

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

This is the granite that was shipped up from New Jersey. I didn’t realize how much magenta was in it, so I ultimately decided to pass on this one.

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

This ended up being the winner. Super White quartzite.  I loved the overall pattern and movement. It was grey and white and was even in the budget. Score.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

