Farmhouse Table

I always wanted to have a very long farmhouse table. A table that could be used every day for small to large gatherings. A table that was unique and special. I looked for years and researched where to find one that was exactly how I pictured in my mind. Ones that I found were extremely expensive. Too much for my budget considerations.

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

I decided to go to a sawmill in our state a few months ago to start the process of actually picking out the wood. It was such a cool place to go. The amount of wood and planks was amazing to see. Barns, fields, lots full of stuff to look through. The smell of the barn immediately brought me back to my childhood playing in the barn at Mama and Jaju up the farm’s property. It felt like home.

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

We choose three 12 foot planks. I wanted them to remain rough cut on the sides and basically keep the length of the plank.

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

John V took all the lumber and created the table. He made the legs out of the lumber we found at the sawmill as well. I really like more of a mid-century look and he crafted the legs similar to that style instead of a more traditional look. We decided to just apply clear coat poly 5 times to keep the authentic look of the planks.

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

I kept three of my previous dining room chairs and had them reupholstered. Two of them were reupholstered in cowhide and I used them in this room. I think they came out great and the kids love to sit in them to eat. The best part is the fact that they are kid friendly.

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

We never used our dining room in the previous home. We have used this space every day since we have moved in.

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

Here is to more dining at the harvest table!

3 thoughts on “Farmhouse Table

Leave a Reply

