Pantry

I have always loved the idea of a butler’s pantry. I have actually posted a few times about them on the blog. I clearly have no butler, but the area would be utilized every day if I had one. So when I was drawing up the plans, I wanted to have a mudroom area that incorporated a butler’s pantry, desk area, closet area and half bath. In the previous home, there was no catch all area and half time things were thrown on the floor, and the kitchen space over flowed into the basement and a closet by the half bath. Not ideal. Not practical.

So my father and I designed a space that could fit all these needs in and watching it actually come alive was so cool!

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

Here is the area with just the studs a few months back. It shows the pantry on the left. The desk, closet and bathroom are on the right side of the space.

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

With the walls up, it was easy to actually picture and see how the space would be used. I wanted just lower cabinets and thick shelves for the top. John V built the shelves for me and they fit the space perfectly.

thehouseoftrim

thehouseoftrue

With the trim and chair rail, the space had that pop of detail that would set it apart from the rest of the first floor. I decided to add wallpaper to the top half of the wall. I wanted to either go grasscloth, paisley or ikat. I decided to go grasscloth because of budget and because it would tie in with the chair fabric I had in the desk area.

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

The view looking out from the pantry into the kitchen.

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

thehouseoftrue

We have used this space throughout the day every day. Well planned.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Pantry

Leave a Reply

